Revisiting Possible Subjects for Hearings Held by Any Future Congressional Committee Investigating Philanthropy

Newly including philanthropic support for activities leading up to and in the wake of the October 7 Hamas attack on Israel.

In March 2022, The Giving Review published a list of possible subjects for hearings held by any future Congressional committee investigating philanthropy. The below list is revised and updated. It newly includes an additional subject—philanthropic support for activities leading up to and in the wake of the October 7 Hamas attack on Israel.


Tax-Incentivized Philanthropy Since the 1969 Tax Reform Act

Philip Hackney, Professor of Law, University of Pittsburgh

Craig Kennedy, Former President, Joyce Foundation and German Marshall Fund of the United States; Senior Fellow, The Giving Review

Leslie Lenkowsky, Professor Emeritus in Public Affairs and Philanthropic Studies, Indiana University

Lloyd Hitoshi Mayer, Professor of Law, Notre Dame University

Benjamin Soskis, Senior Research Associate, Urban Institute

Tax-Incentivized Philanthropy and the Hamas Attack on Israel

Alexandra Durbak, Chair, Amnesty International USA

Tirana Hassan, Executive Director, Human Rights Watch

David Rockefeller, Jr., Trustee, Rockefeller Brothers Fund

Alexander Soros, Chair, Open Society Foundations

Gerald Steinberg, Founder and President, NGO Monitor

Tax-Incentivized Philanthropy, Wealth Inequality, Social Justice, and Democracy

Anand Giridharadas, Author

Elon Musk, Chairman and Chief Technology Officer, X

Rob Reich, Professor of Political Science, Stanford University

Edgar Villanueva, Principal, Decolonizing Wealth Project

Darren Walker, President, Ford Foundation

Tax-Incentivized Philanthropy, Partisan Politics, and Election Administration

Marc Elias, Founding Partner, Elias Law Group

Tiana Epps-Johnson, Founder and Executive Director, Center for Tech and Civic Life

Eric Kessler, Founder and Senior Managing Director, Arabella Advisors

Michael Podhorzer, Assistant to the President, AFL-CIO

Mark Zuckerberg, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Meta, and Co-Chief Executive Officer, Chan Zuckerberg Initiative

Tax-Incentivized Philanthropy and Homelessness

Aileen Adams, Chair, Weingart Foundation

Wallis Annenberg, Chairman, President, and Chief Executive Officer, Annenberg Foundation

James M. Ferris, Director, Center on Philanthropy & Public Policy, University of Southern California

Howard Husock, Senior Fellow, American Enterprise Institute

Elizabeth Mitchell, Attorney for LA Alliance for Human Rights

Tax-Incentivized Philanthropy’s Board Governance

Jeffrey L. Bradach, Co-Chair, Bridgespan Group

Phil Buchanan, President, Center for Effective Philanthropy

Francisco G. Cigarroa, Chairman, Ford Foundation

Heather Higgins, Executive Director, Randolph Foundation

John Tusa, Journalist and Author

Tax-Incentivized Philanthropy’s Assets and Their Taxation

Ellen P. Aprill, Professor of Law Emerita, Loyola Law School

John D. Arnold, Co-Chair, Arnold Ventures

Jennifer Bird-Pollan, Professor of Law, University of Kentucky

Roger Colinvaux, Professor of Law, Catholic University of America

John Seitz, Chief Executive Officer, FoundationMark

This article originally appeared in the Giving Review on October 31, 2023.

Michael E. Hartmann

Michael E. Hartmann is CRC’s senior fellow and director of the Center for Strategic Giving, providing analysis of and commentary about philanthropy and giving. He…
+ More by Michael E. Hartmann